top of page
  • Writer's pictureOmobukielola

Did you know..........?

"Did you her name's Bukky too?" Is probably one of the first things I say when I introduce Aṣa as my fave artist of ALL time! Yes, I famz and I famz hard! Since I listened to So Beautiful a while ago, I have been hooked with her unique style of music. In an era where Psquare's Do me reigned supreme, Aṣa carved a niche with her self titled debut album which she did in collaboration with another fave of mine, Cobhams Asuquo.



Asa, Bukola Elemide, was born in Paris. She moved back to Nigeria when she was two with her family then returned to Paris almost a decade later to further her music education. Soon after, she became a hotcake.


Over the years, through her music, Asa has fused Jazz, Indie pop with the Yoruba culture and in doing created something phenomenal. The amount of work and passion she puts into each project can be heard even as the first notes hit your ears. They take you on a journey; A dance of love, heartbreak, joy, social consciousness, struggles, triumph and a glow up.









So, as she has released her latest album LUCID, I would like to celebrate her. She has been such an inspiration to me and has indirectly encouraged me on my musical journey. So much so that I decided to take up the guitar and begin writing music. Looking at her journey, I've learnt the importance of honing one's craft and staying in your lane. Do what you do, do it the best of your capabilities and you'll be recognized or it. She might not have the awards to prove that she's great but we all know she is. And even though it takes her a while to share her albums, It is always worth the wait.


So, If you haven't heard of her before, I'm honoured to present her to you. There's a link below of a playlist of her songs. Listen, Enjoy and Share







P.S. It took me leaving Nigerian to fully realise and appreciate the impact Asa has. Sometimes we don't see farther than what's in our bubble but that's a story for another day.


P.S.S SHE PLAYS THE TRUMPET PEOPLE!




 


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

HUGE NEWS!

First of all, I want to say a huge thank you to everyone who has followed the blog since day 1. It has been a huge blessing and an...

Opmerkingen


bottom of page